I know what you’ve all been thinking – Dana, stop blogging.  I mean … Dana, why haven’t you written about any museums? You’ve been in Paris going on four weeks and all you seem to be doing is eating.  While that IS true, I have visited a few museums, or at least I’ve tried. The first museum I wanted to visit in Paris was the modern art museum – Centre Pompidou.  I’m not sure why, but for some reason I really like modern art.  No, I don’t get it. And yes, I think I can forge those paint by number paintings, too, but for some reason I am much more entertained in a modern art museum.  Also, I thought I would be able to find some cool posters at Centre Pompidou to redecorate my apartment.

While my mom was here I made a grand plan for us to meet at school, walk to Centre Pompidou, and grab a falafel on the way for lunch.  This isn’t a short walk, and I had already walked Mom across Paris and back, but she was being a trooper.  So we made our way to Centre Pomidou after my Tuesday morning class and of course, it is closed on Tuesdays. Fortunately there were many shops and restaurants around the closed museum so we could do what we do best – eat, drink, and shop.  I even found some overpriced posters for my apartment!

Since the museum was closed, I made us go back the next day. Although we needed to wait in the pouring rain in for ten minutes, sans umbrellas, we eventually got in. Our first stop was the Edvard Munch exhibit. I didn’t know that much about Edvard Munch before the exhibit besides The Scream, but a lot of his other works are very interesting.  Part of the exhibit showcased his repitition of subjects.  For example, in another one of Munch’s famous works, The Kiss, the subjects (a man and woman kissing) are used in a number of paintings either in a different setting, wearing different clothes (or more likely none at all), or at a different time of day.  Apparently he did this so the subjects of his paintings were given an existence larger than one painting. (Or maybe he was just lazy and couldn’t think of anything else?)  I thought it was pretty cool though, especially to see all of the iterations of “The Kiss” in the same room.  There were also a few other paintings of Munch’s which I liked: I’m not sure why, but this one reminded me of my friend J Timothy S.  Not because he likes to shoot people who are in his yard, but I’m not sure he would be as restrained if he lived in Texas … just kidding! At the end of Munch’s life he developed a tumor in his eye and started to draw his view of his tumor (from the inside).  This part got a little weird, so Mom and I hurried off to the other parts of the museum.

Finally, Mom and I were about to really sink ourselves into my favorite part of the museum – the contemporary section.  What I didn’t realize though was Mom was getting sick of the crowds and like most people I know, isn’t the biggest fan of modern art.  I mean I can’t blame her for not appreciating something like this:

What is it? Artwork? Or more likely bad college dorm room decorations? Maybe we are supposed to see Christmas lights without a Christmas tree and think of those less fortunate than us? Does the uneven hanging of the lights represent the ups and downs and unpredictability of life?  I have no idea, and I’m not sure anyone else does either.

BUT, that being said, there were a lot of pieces I thought were awesome, and Mom even agreed with me! I love this one to the left, it’s a cave that you walk into and everything is even/bumpy from the ceiling to the floor.  I somehow managed Mom to get into it so I could take her picture.  It’s a lot bigger than it looks in this picture, there is another whole room to the left. I actually remember this piece from when I went to Paris in high school and I have a picture of me and my friend Mer posing in this cave of wonders.  Here are a few other pieces I really liked from the museum for various reasons, most of which are because they were more interactive.  And some might have even reminded me of my cousins art projects – I wouldn’t be surprised to see one of these chairs next time I’m in the Adirondacks:

One last thing I love about Centre Pompidou is the building itself.  The building is built inside-out to maximize space inside for the exhibitions and give visitors an “understanding of how the building functions.” All of the pipes are outside the building – air-conditioning (blue) , electricity (yellow), water (green).  Furthermore, the glass escalators outside the building, which is how you get from floor to floor, give visitors an AMAZING view of Paris from the buildling.  Unfortunately it was raining the day Mom and I were there so the pictures aren’t fabulous, but you still get the idea. Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about the falafel place we went to for lunch during our day 2 Pompidou trip, I’ll blog about that soon. I think it even rivals Kabob House – I know, I KNOW, that’s a grand statement – but, it’s true.  If you don’t believe me, come visit and I’ll show you! 🙂

